Sentencing 1st Offense DUI
OWI Attorneys Defending Clients in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout Michigan Charged with a Drunk Driving First Offense Sentencing
For many people, a first DUI offense is their first encounter with the law. At Grabel & Associates, we know that bad things happen to good people. When charged with a drunk driving offense for the first time, a conviction can leave you facing serious penalties if convicted. Until now, you have had a clean criminal record; you don't know how the situation will affect your reputation, career, even your freedom. While sentencing in a first-time OWI offense will not leave you facing consequences as severe as those for a subsequent driving while intoxicated offense, it is still critical to protect your legal rights and freedom by hiring a capable Michigan DUI defense attorney.
Our team of highly regarded criminal defense lawyers have provided solid, effective legal guidance and support to clients involved in motor vehicle and drunk driving cases for more than a decade. We are ready to provide you with the guidance and support necessary to achieve good results, regardless of the stage of your case. We fight aggressively against police and prosecutors, investigating the details of your case in order to determine the best legal strategy. We have the skill and experience to fight blood/breath test results, and to determine whether your rights may have been violated in the process of your arrest.
Michigan 1st Offense DUI Attorney
The legal alcohol limit in the state of Michigan for individuals 21 or older is 0.08%. When pulled over by police on suspicion of drunk driving, if your BAC exceeds this limit you may be arrested for DUI. Additionally, you could be charged with OWVI (Operating While Visibly Impaired) regardless of BAC results if an officer believes you are intoxicated to the point another person would notice it, or he/she feels your ability to safely operate a motor vehicle is impaired.
In most cases, unless there are extenuating circumstances a first OWI, DUI, or DWI offense is classified as a misdemeanor, a less serious offense than a felony. Regardless, you may still face jail time, probation, fines, driver's license suspension, and other punishment if convicted. It is highly recommended you contact a trusted Michigan drunk driving attorney at once.
Additionally, individuals who are under the age of 21 may be charged with OWI regardless of blood alcohol content, as it is illegal for underage drivers to operate a motor vehicle with even a trace of alcohol in the system in Michigan. If you possess a CDL and operate a vehicle for commercial purposes in the scope of your employment, you may be charged with DUI if your BAC is determined to be higher than 0.04%.
Driving Under the Influence First Offense - Sentencing in Michigan
As mentioned above, the penalties for a 1st DUI, OWI, DWI, or other drunk driving offense are serious. If convicted, sentencing may include up to 93 days in jail, 360 hours of community service, driver's license suspension, court costs, fines of up to $500, and reinstatement fees to regain your driving privileges. A first OWVI offense incurs slightly less serious penalties, including two years probation and fines of up to $300. In either situation, you will be required to pay responsibility fees of between $500 and $1,000 for two consecutive years, depending on the DUI offense you are accused of.
Contact Grabel & Associates Now for Solid DUI Defense in Michigan
If you or someone you know has been arrested or charged with a first DUI offense, we want to help you avoid a conviction and the resulting criminal penalties. We understand the harsh sentencing drunk driving offenders face in Michigan, and are capable of providing you with outstanding legal defense. At Grabel & Associates, we are dedicated to securing the best possible result for every client we represent. Contact us today at 1-800-342-7896 for a free evaluation of your DUI case.