Aggressive DUI Defense Attorneys for Clients in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout Michigan Facing Drunk Driving/DUI Charges
In Michigan, those convicted of drunk driving or DUI may face numerous penalties depending on a number of factors. If you have been arrested for DUI, OWI, or another related offense, it is important that you speak with a talented attorney right away. At Grabel & Associates, our highly regarded team of DUI defense lawyers provide unsurpassed legal guidance and representation to those accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or other illegal substances.
A few of the Michigan DUI penalties individuals may face include jail time, substantial fines, and driver’s license suspension. Other penalties may apply depending on the circumstances, and whether it is a first or subsequent offense.
Michigan Drunk Driving Offenses
Prosecutors in Michigan may charge an individual with one of three specific drunk driving offenses; these include OWVI, UBAC/UBAL, and OWI as explained below:
OWVI, or Operating While Visibly Impaired, may leave you subject to fines, court costs, jail time, and the possibility of community service if found guilty.
UBAC/UBAL, or Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content/Level, subjects you to the same penalties as OWVI, the difference being that you will be required to perform community service.
OWI, or Operating While Intoxicated, is the most common and least serious offense, subjecting the accused to similar penalties as above if convicted.
Regardless of the offense you are accused of, second- and third-time offenders face penalties, which are substantially harsher than those for a first-time offender. The negative impact does not stop at penalties; depending on the situation, you may be required to have an ignition interlock device installed on your vehicle, attend a drunk driving program, or even lose a professional license. A conviction can literally ruin your career, future employment opportunities, and reputation.
Michigan Penalties for DUI Offenses
Below are Michigan DUI penalties in effect for individuals convicted of a drunk driving offense.
OWI, First Offense - up to 93 days in jail, fines of $100 to $500, 360 hours (45 days) community service, vehicle immobilization at the court's discretion, possible ignition interlock device during probation.
OWI, Second Offense - Jail time of 5 days to one year, fines of $200 to $1,000, minimum 30 days community service (maximum 90 days), possible ignition interlock device during probation, mandatory vehicle immobilization.
OWI, Third Offense - Prison time of one to five years, fines of $500 to $5,000, minimum 30 days probation with jail (maximum of one year), minimum 60 days community service (maximum 180 days), possible ignition interlock device during probation, mandatory vehicle immobilization.
OWVI, First Offense - up to 93 days in jail, fines of up to $300, 360 hours (45 days) community service, vehicle immobilization at the court's discretion.
OWVI, Second Offense - Jail time of 5 days to one year, fines of $200 to $1,000, minimum 30 days community service (maximum 90 days), mandatory vehicle immobilization.
OWVI, Third Offense - Prison time of one to five years, fines of $500 to $5,000, minimum 30 days probation with jail (maximum one year), minimum 60 days community service (maximum 180 days), mandatory vehicle immobilization.
UBAC/UBAL, Unlawful Bodily Alcohol Content/Level, First Offense - up to 93 days in jail, 360 hours (45 days) community service, fines of up to $500.
UBAC/UBAL, Second Offense - up to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, 360 hours (45 days) community service.
Other factors will determine the penalties you face if convicted of a drunk driving offense, including whether any individual was injured, or lost his/her life as a result of your actions (for example, an accident which may be attributed to driving under the influence). Examples of these penalties are below.
OWI Causing Death - Prison time of 15 years, fines of $2,500 to $10,000, mandatory vehicle immobilization. If a firefighter or police officer dies, it is considered a violation of 257.653a. Penalties for this crime are the same other than you will be sentenced to 20 years in prison.
OWI Causing Serious Injury - Prison time of five years, fines of $1,000 to $5,000, mandatory vehicle immobilization.
Driver's License Suspension
Every DUI crime is penalized by license suspension, which is handed down by the SOS (Secretary of State). If you are a first-time offender and convicted of OWI, your license will be suspended for 30 days, followed by 150 days of restricted driving privileges.
Contact Grabel & Associates Now
As you can see, Michigan DUI penalties are harsh regardless of whether you are a first-time or repeat offender. Our top priority is to defend your legal rights and protect you from a conviction, minimizing the negative impact a drunk driving offense can have on your life.
Our Michigan criminal defense team brings more than 100 years of combined experience to the table; our dedication, skill, experience, and aggressive approach make us an outstanding choice in legal counsel. Contact our toll-free number now at 1-800-342-7896 for a free evaluation of your DUI case. Contact us online.