Anti-Drunk and Anti-Drugged Driving Laws
DUI Attorneys Informing You of Anti-Drunk and Anti-Drugged Driving Laws in Detroit, Lansing, Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, and Throughout Michigan
In Michigan, motorists who violate the anti-drunk and drugged driving laws will be subject to swift and sure action; harsh penalties will be implemented for those who violate these laws, which require that:
- Courts are to decide drunk and drugged driving cases within 77 days of the initial arrest.
- Mandatory suspension of driver’s license for 6 months, even for a first conviction. After 30 days of the suspension have lapsed, driver may be eligible to obtain a restricted license.
- Operating a vehicle with a BAC of .17 or higher will result in a mandatory one year driver’s license suspension. Considered a "High BAC" crime, the driver may be eligible to obtain a restricted license once 45 days of the license suspension have lapsed. However, this will only be allowed when an ignition interlock device is installed on any and all vehicles the driver intends to operate or owns.
- If the defendant is convicted of a High BAC crime or has any prior convictions, the court will order the defendant to participate in a minimum of one rehabilitation program, which may be alcohol treatment, a self-help program, or any program the court deems appropriate in the situation. This program must be successfully completed by the defendant.
- A second conviction for drunk or drugged driving will result in 30 to 90 days of community service, five days to one year of jail time to be served consecutively, or both.
- Individuals who have been convicted of drunk or drugged driving multiple times will be subject to revocation of their license.
- Individuals must pay a reinstatement fee of $125 when your driver's license was restricted, revoked, or suspended.
- Individuals who are convicted of a High BAC crime or driving while intoxicated will be required to pay a driver responsibility fee of $1,000 for two consecutive years.
- Individuals who are convicted of driving while impaired with child endangerment or the presence of cocaine or any Schedule 1 drug will be required to pay a driver responsibility fee of $500 for two consecutive years.
An individual will be charged with a felony offense if the drunk or drugged driving offense results in a third conviction during the individual's lifetime, or if the offense results in serious injury to another person, or death.
DUI and Drunk Driving Watchdog Groups in Michigan
Mothers Against Drunk Driving (MADD) and other "watchdog" groups in Michigan are helpful in providing information to citizens of the state regarding the dangers and risks of drunk and drugged driving. While this does help increase awareness about the problems and potential risks associated with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, it also frequently results in jurors who are ready to convict an individual regardless of the details of the case, people who may in fact be innocent. When the general public absorbs the information put out by these groups via various media outlets, it can give potential jurors a predetermined mindset that every person accused of drunk or drugged driving is guilty.
At Grabel & Associates, our Michigan DUI defense lawyers are determined to ensure that jurors know the truth when our clients are accused of a criminal offense involving drunk or drugged driving. We investigate aggressively, examining every detail in order to secure positive results. We know the negative stigma that accusations of drunk or drugged driving cause - but more importantly, we know what it takes to win. We will work vigorously to protect your constitutional rights!
Contact our Michigan Drunk Driving Defense Team Now
We believe that every client has the right to justice; we work to protect your legal rights, and ensure that MADD and other watchdog groups do not treat you unfairly because of influence on the public. Your legal and constitutional rights must be protected. Our goal is to ensure that jurors and others see the truth, and realize that you are innocent until proven guilty beyond a reasonable doubt, regardless of the impressions given by watchdog groups.
Contact Grabel & Associates today for unparalleled legal guidance and representation in your drunk or drugged driving case. We are available 24/7, so call our toll-free number now at 1-800-783-4448 or contact us online.