DUI Driving While License Suspended or Revoked
DUI Defense Attorneys Defending Clients in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and throughout Michigan Charged with DUI while Driving on Suspended or Revoked License
In the state of Michigan, driving is not a right, but a privilege. In order to retain your driving privilege you must obey Michigan's laws and operate a vehicle in a safe manner. Having your driver's license suspended, revoked, or denied can seriously impact your ability to live a normal life. Combine driving under the influence with a suspended or revoked license, and the consequences are even more serious. At Grabel & Associates, our DUI defense attorneys have the skill, experienced, and dedicated approach to protect our clients' legal rights and secure the best possible outcome.
Because we focus solely on criminal defense, our team of attorneys has the vast experience and in-depth knowledge of the laws in Michigan to secure positive results for clients accused of DUI, OWI, OUIL and other drunk driving offenses, as well as driver's license suspension or revocation. If you have been charged with a DUI offense and were caught driving on a suspended or revoked license, we urge you to contact our office immediately at 1-800-342-7896.
Suspended and Revoked Driver's License in Michigan
While both are serious matters, a revoked driver's license is more serious than a suspended license. When an individual's license is suspended, it is reinstated automatically upon completion of the suspension period. You will have to pay a $125 reinstatement fee along with driver responsibility fees that may apply in order for your driving privilege to be restored.
Having your driver's license revoked is substantially more serious, and requires that you go through a restoration process that is highly complicated. In order to have your license restored when it has been revoked, you must file an appeal with the DAAD (Michigan Secretary of State's Driver Assessment and Appeal Division). There is a substantial amount of paperwork involved, potential hearings, and other complex issues you may face in the process. Our Michigan criminal defense lawyers specialize in driver's license restoration, so contact us now. The first time your license is revoked, you must wait for a period of one year to apply for reinstatement - and even then, there is no guaranteed you will have your driving privilege restored.
Driving on a Suspended or Revoked Driver's License in Michigan
In Michigan, driving on a suspended, revoked, or denied driver's license is a common offense. For most people, it is nearly impossible not to drive at one point or another, particularly considering the lack of public transportation in the state. However, the penalties if caught are serious, particularly if you are found to be driving under the influence.
In the majority of cases, driving on a suspended or revoked license is considered a misdemeanor under Michigan law. However, should you become involved in a serious accident which results in someone becoming seriously injured or even killed, you will face felony charges. Regardless of your unique situation, we recommend you contact our criminal defense firm immediately.
Michigan Criminal Penalties for Operating on Suspended or Revoked License
In Michigan, driving on a suspended or revoked license will result in the following penalties:
First offense: fines of up to $500 and a maximum of 93 days in jail.
Second and subsequent offenses: fines of up to $1,000 and up to one year in jail.
There will also be court costs involved. Additionally, the suspension/revocation time may be doubled the original term. For example, if your license was originally revoked for one year, the revocation period may be increased to two years.
It is also important to note that if you were involved in an accident that resulted in the injury of another person, penalties will increase to fines of between $1,000 and $5,000. You may also be sentenced to up to 5 years in prison. Should you cause an accident while driving on a suspended or revoked license, which results in the death of another person; penalties will include fines of between $2,500 and $10,000 and up to 15 years in prison. Operating while intoxicated often leads to a serious accident; having those circumstances occur while driving on a suspended or revoked license is extremely serious.
Contact Grabel & Associates Now
At Grabel & Associates, we know the serious consequences an individual will face if caught driving on a suspended, revoked, or denied license while under the influence of alcohol or drugs. Not only will you face sanctions for driving without license privileges, you will also face serious punishment for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated. Together, the results can be disastrous not only in terms of your freedom, but reputation and career as well. Our Michigan criminal defense lawyers are capable, qualified, and dedicated to providing you with outstanding legal guidance. Contact our office today online or call us at 1-800-342-7896 for a free evaluation of your case.