DUI Child Endangerment Lawyer
OWI Defense Attorney in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout Michigan Defending Those Accused of Child Endangerment
Operating a vehicle while under the influence of alcohol or a controlled substance while transporting a child younger than 16 is considered child endangerment in Michigan. At Grabel & Associates, our DUI defense attorneys know the last negative impact a conviction for OWI child endangerment can have on your life. The criminal penalties facing those who are convicted of OWI or drunk driving alone are harsh; drive with a child in the vehicle who is under 16 years of age, and you may find you are facing a child endangerment charge as well. Ultimately, you may face an enhanced or increased sentence, meaning substantial fines and increased jail time. Our team of highly skilled Michigan DUI child endangerment lawyers is skilled, capable, and aggressive; we will vigorously fight for your freedom while working to protect you from a wrongful conviction.
While a charge of DUI is a serious charge, OWI child endangerment is even more complex; the opportunity to obtain your desired outcome may be in jeopardy without the legal guidance and support of an experienced criminal defense attorney. We urge you to contact us immediately by calling our toll-free number at 1-800-783-4448.
Michigan OWI with Child in Car
In the state of Michigan, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC (blood alcohol content) of more than 0.08% for those 21 and over. It is also important to note that you may be charged with DUI if a police officer determines that you are not capable of operating a vehicle in a safe manner. Additionally, a BAC of more than 0.17% will leave you facing a "super drunk" or high BAC charge. Committing any of the above offenses while a child under 16 years of age is a passenger in the vehicle may result in additional charges of child endangerment being filed.
For motorists younger than age 21 (Michigan's legal drinking age), it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle with a BAC of more than 0.02%. You may also face a charge of child endangerment if accused of operating while under the influence with a passenger who is under 16.
Michigan Child Endangerment OWI Conviction - Criminal Penalties
According to the Michigan Penal Code Section 257.625, you may face a misdemeanor charge of child endangerment when it is a first offense. The penalties if convicted will include up to one year in jail, fines of up to $1,000, driver's license suspension, and more. A second offense Michigan OWI child endangerment within seven years of the first offense will leave you facing up to 5 years in jail, fines of as much as $5,000, revocation of your driver's license, potential community service and probation, and more.
When a driver younger than 21 years of age violates Michigan's Zero Tolerance law while transporting a child under the age of 16 (even if the passenger is a sibling or friend), he or she may face punishment including $500 in fines, 60 days of community service, or up to 93 days in jail.
As you can see, the penalties for a DUI child endangerment offense are serious, impacting not only your freedom, but driving privilege. It is imperative you consult with a qualified Michigan criminal defense attorney at once.
Contact Grabel & Associates Today for Outstanding Criminal DUI Defense
When accused of endangering a child's life by transporting him or her while operating a vehicle under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances, it is crucial to your reputation, freedom, and future to consult with a capable and confident Michigan DUI defense lawyer. At Grabel & Associates, our goal is to provide you with unsurpassed legal guidance and support, developing a strong and effective defense in order to protect you from the life-changing consequences of a conviction. We urge you to contact our office online or call us immediately at 1-800-783-4448 for a free evaluation of your DUI with child in car case.