Underage Transportation Possession of Alcohol (MIP)
Underage Transportation Possession of Alcohol Lawyers Representing Underage Clients Accused of Transporting Alcohol in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout the State
In the state of Michigan, a person may not possess, drink, or purchase alcohol under age 21. While you are considered an adult at age 18 and it may seem unfair that you can do practically anything else, alcohol is off limits. Underage transportation or possession of alcohol is illegal, a law that was put into place by Michigan voters and which is vigorously enforced. Any minor who operates a motor vehicle with alcohol present in that vehicle, whether capped or sealed, may face criminal charges for Minor in Possession. Underage individuals may not possess or transport alcohol according to the state's Zero Tolerance policy. If charged and convicted, a minor may face serious punishment. Contact an OWI lawyer immediately if you are an underage minor charged with alcohol possession, or the parent of an underage child accused of transporting alcoholic beverages.
Grabel & Associates focuses on all areas of criminal defense, including cases involving alcohol possession, DUI juvenile crimes. Our experienced team of attorneys offers the skill, dedication, and aggressive approach to achieve good results for those accused of underage transportation or possession of alcohol. Our primary goal is to protect minors from unnecessary punishment. We believe in a personal approach and will guide you through every stage of the process, helping secure the results you desire.
Michigan Alcohol Possession and Transportation Crimes
The Michigan Liquor Control Code dictates that any individual younger than 21 years of age may not attempt to purchase, purchase, possess, consume, or attempt to possess any amount of alcoholic liquor. Individuals who are underage may not transport or possess any alcohol whatsoever, including packaged, canned, or bottled liquor or beer that is capped, sealed, or boxed. Additionally, it is against the law to have even a minute amount of alcohol in your system. This can be measured through a BAC (blood alcohol content) test using either breath or blood to measure alcohol level.
While the Zero Tolerance law is harsh, there are a few exceptions. You will not be convicted for minor in possession if you consume wine as part of a religious ceremony; should you seek medical treatment at a hospital or other health facility of your own accord, you will not be charged with alcohol possession. In addition, those who are between the ages of 18 and 21 and who transport alcohol in their employment may be exempt from the Zero Tolerance liquor possession law. Contact Grabel & Associates now to learn more regarding the specifics of the Michigan Liquor Control Code and how it could impact your unique case.
Michigan Criminal Penalties for Underage Alcohol Transportation or Possession
Being convicted as an underage driver for operating a motor vehicle while in possession of beer, wine, or liquor will leave you facing severe punishment if convicted. Even carrying alcohol beverages while you are walking or being in possession of alcohol otherwise could leave you facing criminal charges. A first-time minor offender will face penalties that include community service, fines of up to $100, and substance abuse treatment and testing if convicted. Perhaps the most serious consequence of all is that you will have a criminal record, which could negatively impact your ability to get a job, loan, education, and more.
A second minor in possession charge will leave you facing increased penalties and fines, which are doubled. Your driving privilege will also be suspended for 90 days, after which you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee to having your license restored. A second offense may also result in jail time if you do not pay the required fines, do not successfully complete a substance abuse program, or are on probation. Being convicted a third time for underage possession of alcohol will result in increased community service, fines of as much as $500, and possibly jail time should you fail to successfully complete alcohol abuse treatment ordered by the court, or violate probation.
Contact Grabel & Associates Now for Aggressive Defense of Underage Alcohol Crimes
We urge you to contact our team of Michigan DUI defense attorneys immediately if you are a minor or parent of an underage child accused of transporting or possession alcoholic beverages. Available 24/7, our experienced case analyst is ready to take your call now at 1-800-342-7896. We offer a no cost, no obligation telephone evaluation, so contact us today for solid, effective legal guidance and representation in your case. Contact us online.