Mandated Reporters for CPS - MDHHS During DUI
The state of Michigan takes child abuse and neglect crimes very seriously. There are strict penalties in place for parents and guardians that fail to care for their dependents under the age of 18 and mandates that require professionals that interact with children to file a report with CPS when they suspect a child is in danger. Criminal charges and mandates help promote a safe environment for Michigan's youth, but also may lead to wrongful punishments for innocent parties. If you have been wrongfully accused of child abuse or neglect or failing to report on suspicion of child abuse or neglect, reaching out to a defense lawyer is the first step in clearing your name and moving forward.
The Grabel & Associates team has been working in Michigan for over 15 years and has ample experience defending Michigan's wrongfully accused. We take every case that crosses our desk very seriously and always do our best to promote justice and stand up for those who cannot defend themselves. If you need help navigating your case involving child abuse or neglect, pick up the phone and dial our toll-free hotline today. It is never too early to start your battle for justice.
Mandatory Reporter Laws in Michigan
If you are a professional that works in close contact with children and their families, you may be mandated by law to report child maltreatment in Michigan. The following individuals are just a few of Michigan's mandated reporters:
- Police Officers
- Child Care Providers (Nannies, Babysitters, Etc.)
- Mental Health Professionals (Counselors, Therapists, Psychologists, Etc.)
- Health Care Workers (Doctors, Nurses, Etc.)
- School Personnel (Principals, Teachers, School Nurses, Etc.)
- Social Workers
- Medical Examiners
If you are unsure if you are required to report suspicion of abuse or neglect, speak with your supervisor. You should receive training on how to recognize abuse or neglect, enabling you to be a successful mandated reporter.
If you are a mandated reporter and you suspect a parent or guardian is mistreating a child and you do not call CPS, you could face criminal charges. Failure to report may result in large fines, jail time, or both. These life-altering penalties can be avoided by knowing your legal obligations and contacting a CPS attorney as soon as possible if you are accused of a crime.
CPS Reviews Report and Starts Investigation
If you file a report in good faith and it turns out there are no signs of abuse or neglect, you will not be penalized. Upon receiving your initial call, CPS will review the information you provided and determine if an investigation is warranted. If so, the investigation will begin within 24 hours of receiving your report. An investigation typically consists of interviews, a home visit, a thorough review of the evidence and relevant documents, and an assessment of the family's strengths and weaknesses. If necessary, CPS will file a petition with the court to have the child temporarily removed from the home.
CPS does their best to keep the best interest of the child in mind throughout the entire investigation and attorneys often work on behalf of the families involved to ensure the truth is revealed. It is never a good idea to put off making a report because you're worried about making a false accusation. Leave that decision up to the professionals that know how to recognize child abuse.
Mandated Reporter Cases
If you are a mandated reporter that has failed to report abuse or neglect, you need to contact an attorney as soon as possible. You could face criminal charges for failure to report, negatively impacting your future and potentially putting your job at risk. The Grabel & Associates team knows what it takes to protect you during an investigation and will work around the clock to prove that you were unaware that the child was in danger. The sooner you connect with us in a case, the better your chances are of receiving the best available results.
We understand that mistakes can happen and will do our best to protect your name throughout the investigation. Pick up the phone and call us today for a free initial case consultation for more information about how we can help you navigate your mandated reporter case.
To get in touch with our team, fill out our online contact form or dial 1-800-783-4448. Our toll-free hotline will get you connect with a skilled case analyst who will help you determine the next steps in your criminal defense. When your future is on the line, do not settle for second-rate attorneys. Contact Grabel & Associates today!