Zero Tolerance - Under 21 Law
Underage DUI Defense Firm Representing Juvenile Clients in Ann Arbor, Detroit, Grand Rapids, Lansing, and Throughout Michigan Charged with Zero Tolerance - Under 21 OWI/DUI Offenses
The state of Michigan has enacted the Zero Tolerance law, a tough law which makes it illegal for individuals who are younger than 21 to consume alcohol and operate a vehicle. Anyone under age 21 who is determined to have a BAC (blood alcohol concentration) of more than 0.02% but less than 0.08% may be arrested for OWI under the Zero Tolerance law. Basically, this applies to any person under the age of 21 determined to have "any bodily alcohol content" with the exception of an occasion on which it can be proven the presence of alcohol resulted from a generally recognized religious service.
At Grabel & Associates, our Michigan DUI juvenile defense attorneys are dedicated to providing those arrested for an OWI Zero Tolerance offense with outstanding legal representation. Whether you or your child has been charged, it is critical you obtain the legal support and guidance of a capable and experienced DUI attorney. Michigan severely punishes those convicted of any drunk driving offense; in order to avoid serious criminal penalties you must discuss your situation with a talented criminal defense lawyer.
Michigan Penalties for OWI Zero Tolerance Offense
When an individual is convicted for a first-time OWI Zero Tolerance offense, the penalties may include a fine of $250 and 360 hours of community service. A first-time offender will not usually serve jail time, however a second OWI offense within seven years will result in penalties that are more severe. For example, if you were convicted for an OWI Zero Tolerance offense at age 18 and arrested for an additional DUI offense at age 23, you may be charged with an OWI second offense. The penalties for a second offense include jail time of up to 93 days, a $500 fine, and 60 days of community service. Additional penalties include driver's license suspension/revocation, impound of your vehicle, and more.
It's also important to note that you may not be charged with a felony third offense as a result of a Zero Tolerance offense, as this conviction may be used only once to enhance the charge for a second offense. While all of this may sound a bit complicated, our Michigan OWI defense attorneys are happy to explain the penalties for those charged with all DUI offenses, and the aggressive approach we take to obtain a good outcome. We want to stress the importance of consulting with our qualified lawyers who will protect you or your child from unnecessary punishment; we fight vigorously on your behalf for the justice you deserve.
Minor Returning from Canada
In Canada, it is legal for individuals to drink alcohol at age 19. However, if an underage minor (under 21) consumes alcohol in Canada and drives a motor vehicle into Michigan, he/she can still be charged with OWI Zero Tolerance.
Contact the Michigan DUI Defense Attorneys at Grabel & Associates Now
When you or your child have been arrested for driving under the influence of alcohol, it is urgent you obtain the services of a skilled and aggressive criminal defense lawyer right away. Our team works vigorously to fight charges of OWI Zero Tolerance, helping clients avoid serious criminal penalties and the negative impact that may result to other aspects of your life as well.
We offer a free case evaluation, and are available 24/7. Contact our highly regarded Michigan DUI lawyers now at 1-800-783-4448. Contact us online.